2024 Transposium Asheville Crowne Plaza and Expo Center June 17th - 20th

Instructions for Downloading NCPTA APP

Android Device Download Instructions (docx)

Apple Device Download Instructions (docx)

State Directors LEAs Contact Information

NC Transportation Directors Contact List 03-12-24 (pdf)

State Emergency Contact List

NCPTA Emergency Contact List rev 04-10-24 (pdf)

NCPTA Membership Form

Membership Form 2023-2024 (xlsx)

NCDMV - School Bus and Traffic Safety

School Bus Pre-Trip for renewal v2 (pdf)

Transpotation Advisory Group

District memberships forms, north carolina school bus electrification announcement, ncpta constitution and by-laws.

NCPTA BY-LAWS (pdf)

Position Papers

DMV Safety Inspection Sticker on School Activity Buses (pdf)

Legislative Salary Letters Spring 2017 (pdf)

NCPTA Diesel fuel paper 062508 (pdf)

NCPTA Legislative Response - 4-23-14_edited (pdf)

NCPTA Position Paper - May 2012 - CNG Buses - Retread Tires (pdf)

NCPTA Position Paper 2-9-12 (pdf)

NCPTA Position Paper 5-8-12 - Retread Tire Legislation (pdf)

Parental Responsibility - Bus Stops (pdf)

Position Paper - School Bus Operations - High Winds (pdf)

Copyright © 2020 North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association- All Rights Reserved.

Powered by GoDaddy Website Builder

  • Bus Driver Roadeo
  • Transposium
  • Officers and Membership
  • Vendor Link
  •    Help center
  •    Send email
  • Premium Login
  •    Car
  •    CDL (Commercial Vehicles)
  •    Motorcycle
  • Last-Minute DMV Tips
  • Driving Tips
  • Help Center

Your Progress

  • 0   Incorrect ( 4 allowed to pass )
  • 0   Correct
  • Answer popularity
  • Font size Default A A
  • Keyboard shortcuts Shift + ?

How to Pass The First Time

  • Practice with the Free tests
  • Unlock 67 Premium tests
  • Review our Premium Cheat Sheets

or we return 100% of your money

nc bus pre trip inspection

  • Back to  all tests
  • View  Handbook

Free NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Exam

  • Perfect for first-time and renewal CDL/CLP applicants, and those adding endorsements
  • Based on 2024 NC commercial driver's license manual
  • Triple-checked for accuracy
  • Updated for May 2024

nc bus pre trip inspection

About this test

This CDL practice test is a great place to start if you’re after the NC Pre-Trip Inspection endorsement. Each of the 20 questions is based on the official 2024 CDL manual . The test is designed to prepare you for the Pre-Trip Inspection portion of your 2024 Commercial Driver’s License exam. There are several answer options, but only one of them is correct. Every time you answer a question, you’ll get immediate feedback with a detailed explanation, so you won’t need to wait until the end of the test to know the correct answers.

Thoroughly prepare for your CDL Pre-Trip Inspection with our detailed guide, offering step-by-step procedures and essential tips at our Pre-Trip Inspection section .

What to expect on the actual NC CDL exam

correct answers to pass

passing score

Helpful links

NC DMV website

Official North Carolina CDL manual (2024)

More NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Resources

  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Test
  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Test 2
  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Test 3
  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Test 4
  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Marathon
  • NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Exam Simulator

Your trusted source for driver education

Our commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.

Explore our rigorous, multi-tiered verification process that ensures each question mirrors the official manual for unparalleled accuracy.

nc bus pre trip inspection

At Driving-Tests.org, we understand the importance of reliable and accurate practice tests to help you prepare for your DMV exam. That's why we've developed a meticulous process to create and continually update our practice questions, ensuring they reflect the most current driving laws and regulations.

Here's an inside look at how we maintain the highest quality in our practice tests.

Content Creation and Verification Process

  • Alignment with Official Manuals: Every question we develop is based on the most recent version of each state's official driving manual. Our team regularly monitors each state DMV's website for the latest updates to ensure our practice tests are always aligned with the most current information.
  • Community Feedback Integration: We leverage feedback from our vast community of users to understand which topics are most frequently tested. This helps us focus on the areas that are most relevant and beneficial for your preparation.
  • Expert Content Creation: Our in-house editor, Steven , who has extensive experience in driver education, crafts each question with precision. He conducts a thorough review of each question against the official manuals to ensure accuracy.
  • Rigorous Review Process: Once Steven has finalized a set of questions, our team conducts a joint review session. This second level of scrutiny involves content accuracy, proofreading, and fact-checking to eliminate any errors.
  • User Feedback Mechanism: After a question goes live on our site, we keep the lines of communication open. Each question features a feedback button, inviting users to report any issues or errors. This continuous feedback loop allows us to address and rectify any concerns promptly.
  • Responsive Updates: In line with our commitment to accuracy, we quickly update our practice questions to reflect any changes in the DMV manuals. Additionally, we update the free electronic copy of the state's driver's license manuals on our site, typically within a few days after the DMV publishes them.

Our thorough quality control process ensures that you have access to practice tests that are as accurate and up-to-date as possible. We believe in the power of well-prepared drivers and are dedicated to providing you with the best study tools to help you succeed on your DMV exam.

Keyboard shortcuts

nc bus pre trip inspection

Try Driving-Tests Premium

Pass the knowledge test the first time, guaranteed.

Pass Guarantee

How does it work.

Our Premium Membership comes with a Pass Guarantee (30-day access and longer). If you successfully complete all the practice tests for your province/territory, we promise you a passing grade on your official written knowledge test or we'll refund your money. Your most recent completion of all the tests should be not earlier than 30 days before your exam date.

Just send us an email with your full name (must match the name and email address used for your purchase at Tests.ca) within 30 days from the purchase of your Premium membership. 

What happens next

We'll check your account to make sure you've successfully completed all practice tests for your state. Once that is confirmed, we'll issue a full refund (you'll receive a separate email confirmation).

If you know the date of your official knowledge exam, select it here:

FREE North Carolina CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test 2024 | NC

Ready to attempt the pre-trip inspection endorsement test? Before spending time and money to take the test at the DMV, take our free North Carolina CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test to ensure you are ready. On our practice test you will find 30 questions covering both inside and outside inspections. If you get 24 or more of the questions right you are ready to take the real test and earn your endorsement, which could help you qualify for higher paying jobs.

The questions on this practice test are multiple choice and come with answer explanations. We suggest you read each explanation to further increase your understanding of important topics. Here are a couple of sample questions that you may find on the practice test: If you have inspected the engine compartment, vehicle front, vehicle side, tractor/truck rear, and trailer front, what would you inspect next? When you get in the cab and start the engine during the in-cab part of your inspection, what do you do first? The test is formatted and written similarly to the real test to get you as prepared as possible to pass. In fact, our practice test is drawn from the same resource as the real test – the North Carolina CDL Handbook . Don’t be surprised if you see similar or even the same questions on the real test after you take our practice test. One difference between our practice test and the real test is that you can take our test multiple times – as many times as you need to build the knowledge to pass. Take our test and start practicing now.

North Carolina CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Overview:

Get the latest (2024) official NC CDL Manual.

Select Another NC CDL Practice Test

  • General Knowledge Test 1
  • General Knowledge Test 2
  • General Knowledge Test 3
  • NC CDL Air Brakes Test 1
  • NC Combination Vehicles Test 1
  • NC CDL HazMat Test 1
  • NC CDL Tanker Vehicles Test 1
  • NC Double/Triple Trailers Test 1
  • NC Passenger Vehicles Test 1
  • NC CDL School Bus Test 1
  • NC CDL Pre Trip Inspection Test 1 (you are here)
  • General Knowledge Test Simulator

nc bus pre trip inspection

Bus Inspector Certification

Important Certification Program Information

North Carolina School Bus Inspector Certification Program - June 2016

Training Materials

  • 4-Hour Class Powerpoint
  • Train-the-Trainer Powerpoint
  • NEW 30 Day Inspection Video (windows media player, Alt-Enter for full screen)

30 Day Inspection Classes:

Required Forms: Certification of 20 hours In-Service Training for NC School Bus Inspector

1995 © School Bus Safety Web. Site design by ITRE, NC State University in conjunction with the Governor's Highway Safety Program. All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. All rights reserved.

IMAGES

  1. Free Printable Dot Pre Trip Inspection Form

    nc bus pre trip inspection

  2. pre trip inspection class b bus

    nc bus pre trip inspection

  3. bus pre trip inspection checklist pdf

    nc bus pre trip inspection

  4. CDL Class B BUS Pre-Trip Inspection 2020

    nc bus pre trip inspection

  5. Bus Pre Trip Inspection Form Fill Online Printable Fillable Blank

    nc bus pre trip inspection

  6. SCHOOL BUS PRE-TRIP INSPECTION CHECK LIST

    nc bus pre trip inspection

VIDEO

  1. School Bus Drift. Impressive sight. Drifting in Kyiv. Дрифт школьного автобуса

  2. school bus pre trip inspection #8

  3. The Greatest Pretrip Inspection Class B Checklist

  4. pretrip bus inspection 2023(2)

  5. School bus inspection pre trip

  6. End of school bus pre trip inspection and student pick up and drop

COMMENTS

  1. PDF North Carolina School Bus Driver Handout

    North Carolina School Bus Driver Handout . 2nd Edition / School Bus Drivers / March 2018 SBTS-341 (rev 3/18) 2 . 3 . This handout contains knowledge and safe driving ... Perform a pre-trip inspection before each trip to find problems that could cause a crash or breakdown.

  2. North Carolina School Bus Driver Handbook

    North Carolina School Bus Driver Handbook 1st Edition / School Bus Drivers / September 2015 SBTS-341 (Rev 8/16) 2 . 3 This handout contains knowledge and safe driving ... Perform a pre-trip inspection before each trip to find problems that could cause a crash or breakdown.

  3. CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Demonstration on a School Bus

    Pre-Trip inspection demonstrated on a school bus. This is how you should perform your pre-trip inspection on the CDL road test. This would be after you perfo...

  4. PDF DQGERRN IRU 6FKRRO %XV ' ULYHUV

    FOREWORD. This manual describes the requirements for obtaining a North Carolina Commercial Driver License (CDL) with Passenger and School Bus endorsements, in addition to School Bus Driver Certification. The informa-tion contained in this manual provides information to assist you in passing the required knowledge and skills tests.

  5. School Bus class B CDL pretrip inspection demonstration

    A class B CDL pre-trip conducted on a 2021 IC Conventional School Bus

  6. Manuals

    NC BUS FLEET, Adopted by State Board of Education, March 2011 NC BUS FLEET - Vehicles (March 2011) Preventive Maintenance (March 2011) 30 Day Inspections (March 2011) School Bus Inspection Manual - (Jan. 2005) School Bus Inspection Manual - (Oct. 2004) School Bus Inspection Manual - (Jun. 2000) NC BUS FLEET (adopted by State Board of Education ...

  7. PDF North Carolina School Bus Inspection Manual

    NC DPI Transportation Services DRAFT - June 15, 2000. North Carolina School Bus Inspection Manual. Regulations And Procedures. 1. ATTENTION This manual has been developed for those engaged in school bus inspection with the goal of inspection uniformity thereby increasing the likelihood that fewer buses will be operated in an unsafe condition.

  8. PDF TRANSPORTATION DEPARTMENT Bus Driver Handbook

    The school bus driver will be evaluated at least once per year by the assigned supervisor (Bus Driver's Evaluation Form). See NC Department of Transportation Division of Motor Vehicle Regulations and the Brunswick County

  9. PDF North Carolina School Bus Inspection Manual

    9. With the ignition switch in the off position, depress the brake pedal on hydraulic brake buses and inspect the brake motor for proper operation. 10. With the ignition switch in the on position, check the operation of the low-air light, brake warning light, buzzer and any engine lights.

  10. PDF School Charter Transportation Safety Committee

    driver completes a thorough pre-trip inspection prior to each trip and is further required to repair any safety-related defects discovered prior to the trip. The completion of a pre-trip checklist by school personnel does not relieve the company of the liability for the mechanical condition of the vehicle. 3

  11. A.B.CDL Training School Bus Inspection

    This video will help prepare you for the hands-on Pre-trip inspection for a School Bus. To get a School Bus endorsement on your CDL you must take the written...

  12. School Bus Pre-Trip Inspection Checklists

    A school bus pre-trip inspection aims to determine if school buses are secured and operational before departing from the terminal. To identify any potentially unsafe conditions, bus drivers or fleet supervisors should perform regular checks to avoid any road-related incidents, massive vehicle damages, and unexpected vehicular costs.

  13. NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test

    NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test 2024. Perfect for first-time and renewal CDL/CLP applicants, and those adding endorsements. Based on 2024 NC commercial driver's license manual. Triple-checked for accuracy. Updated for May 2024.

  14. Downloads

    North Carolina Pupil Transportation Association strives to maintain safe school transportation in Hope Mills, NC. ... School Bus Pre-Trip for renewal v2 (pdf) Download. Transpotation Advisory Group. TAG HISTORY 6 15 22 (pdf) ... DMV Safety Inspection Sticker on School Activity Buses (pdf) Download. Legislative Salary Letters Spring 2017 (pdf)

  15. PDF School Bus Pre-trip Inspection Check List

    school bus pre-trip inspection check list district bus # date: from to code: ok needs attention correction made ... inspection date a check outside the bus 1. fuel tank (s) filler cap(s) 2. exhaust pipe 3. tires/ rims/ lugs 4. air tank (s) 5 under bus leaks (oil, fuel, coolant, water, ...

  16. PDF School Bus Pre-Trip Inspection Checklist

    School Bus Pre-Trip Inspection Checklist ... have left the bus Weekly Engine Compartment Battery, belts, wiring Oil levels Radiator Inside Bus Wash floor, steps, seats, windows, walls and interior lights Check first aid kit, fire extinguisher and emergency reflectors Outside Bus ...

  17. FREE NC CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Exam 2024

    6 min to complete. Available in EN and ES. This CDL practice test is a great place to start if you're after the NC Pre-Trip Inspection endorsement. Each of the 20 questions is based on the official 2024 CDL manual. The test is designed to prepare you for the Pre-Trip Inspection portion of your 2024 Commercial Driver's License exam.

  18. PDF North Carolina School Bus Inspection Manual

    This manual has been developed for those engaged in school bus or activity bus inspection with the goal of inspection uniformity thereby increasing the likelihood ... North Carolina General Statute 115C-248(a) states the following: The superintendent of each local school administrative unit, shall

  19. PDF Nc Bus Fleet

    Preventive Maintenance. North Carolina Department of Public Instruction School Support Division, Transportation Services 6319 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6319 Phone 919-807-3570 • Fax 919-807-3578. www.ncbussafety.org. Adopted May 4, 2006.

  20. FREE North Carolina CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test 2024

    Before spending time and money to take the test at the DMV, take our free North Carolina CDL Pre-Trip Inspection Practice Test to ensure you are ready. On our practice test you will find 30 questions covering both inside and outside inspections. If you get 24 or more of the questions right you are ready to take the real test and earn your ...

  21. Bus Inspector Certification

    North Carolina School Bus Inspector Certification Program - June 2016. Training Materials. 4-Hour Class Powerpoint; Train-the-Trainer Powerpoint; NEW 30 Day Inspection Video (windows media player, Alt-Enter for full screen) 30 Day Inspection Classes: ... All content and works posted on this website are owned by the North Carolina Department of ...

  22. CDL Transit Bus Engine Pre-Trip Inspection

    How to inspect a Gillig engine for a CDL ExamRear Engine Bay: 0:00Side Engine Bay: 1:43

  23. NC School Bus Safety Web

    TD-2 Data Collection: Annual Student Headcounts. October. Due Date for the following TD Reports: TD-2 (Student Headcounts) TD-2R (Driver Salary, Time and Route Miles) TD-24 (Contract Transportation) November. TDTIMS Due Date.