2014 Dodge Journey

# 14 out of 23 in 2014 affordable midsize suvs.

2014 Dodge Journey

Search Used Listings

Enter your zip code to search used Journey listings in your area.

$ 8,178 - 11,575

Avg Price Paid

$ 19,995 - 30,895

Original MSRP

Advertisement

2014 Dodge Journey Review

Other Years:

U.S. News Rating

The 2014 Dodge Journey ranks in the middle of its class. While it has a nice cabin and low ownership costs, a number of its rivals are more fun to drive, have nicer interiors, or offer better safety and reliability ratings.

Underpowered base engine

Poor fuel economy

No advanced safety features

What's New for 2014

No major changes

Features and Specs

16-19 City / 24-26 Hwy

173 - 283 horsepower

Dodge Journey Rankings

The 2014 Dodge Journey's #14 ranking is based on its score within the 2014 Affordable Midsize SUVs category. Currently the Dodge Journey has a score of 7.7 out of 10, which is based on our evaluation of 43 pieces of research and data elements using various sources .

  • # 12 in 2014 Affordable SUVs with 3 Rows
  • # 14 in 2014 Affordable Midsize SUVs
  • # 25 in 2014 Affordable Crossover SUVs
  • # 39 in Used SUVs with 3 Rows under $15K
  • # 89 in Used Crossover SUVs under $10K
  • # 136 in Used Midsize SUVs under $20K
  • Critics' Rating 8.2
  • Performance 6.8
  • Total Cost of Ownership 9.1
  • Interior 7.7

Where This Vehicle Ranks

dodge journey 2014 reviews

2014 Buick Enclave

$13,601 - $15,968 AVG PRICE PAID

dodge journey 2014 reviews

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe

$11,845 - $13,918 AVG PRICE PAID

dodge journey 2014 reviews

2014 Toyota Venza

$14,311 - $17,981 AVG PRICE PAID

dodge journey 2014 reviews

2014 Ford Edge

$11,777 - $15,365 AVG PRICE PAID

dodge journey 2014 reviews

2014 Nissan Murano

$10,592 - $15,788 AVG PRICE PAID

dodge journey 2014 reviews

$8,178 - $11,575 AVG PRICE PAID

2014 Journey Photos

2014 Dodge Journey Angular Front

2014 Dodge Journey Overview

Is the 2014 dodge journey a good used suv.

The Journey is an OK SUV, but there are better options in the competitive midsize SUV class . The Journey's strengths include a potent available V6, an upscale interior, and easy-to-use available tech features. On the other hand, the base engine isn't very powerful, its fuel economy is poor, and there are no available advanced safety features.

Used 2014 Dodge Journey Performance and Interior

You should skip over the Journey's weak standard four-cylinder engine and instead buy a model with the available V6, which has much better power for daily driving. A four-speed automatic transmission comes with the four-cylinder, while the V6 has a six-speed automatic. The four-cylinder gets poor fuel economy for the class, at 19 mpg in the city and 25 mpg on the highway. Opting for the V6 only loses you a couple mpg in city driving, while highway fuel economy stays the same. This crossover has a smooth ride over rough roads, though it's not quite as athletic as nimbler competitors when steering through turns. Front-wheel drive is standard, and all-wheel drive is available – though only in V6-powered models.

Read more about Journey performance »

The Journey's cabin has contemporary styling with high-quality materials. The Journey is a five-seat crossover; an available third row of seats makes room for up to seven people. The front seats aren't particularly supportive, but they offer a great view of the road ahead. The second-row seats can recline for greater comfort, while the available third row is best left to children. Some models have integrated child booster seats in the second row. The outboard seats in the second row each have a full set of LATCH child-seat connectors. There's an additional upper tether anchor on the middle second-row seat, and no LATCH connectors in the third row.

The base Journey AVP is reasonably well-equipped, with features like a 4.3-inch Uconnect infotainment system, a USB port, and dual-zone air conditioning. An upgraded 8.4-inch touch screen is available, along with Bluetooth, navigation, and a rear-seat entertainment system. Many competitors offer Bluetooth as a standard feature. The standard touch screen is on the small side, so on-screen buttons can be tough to use. The larger available system is much easier to use, with sharper graphics and an intuitive interface.

Read more about Journey interior »

How Much is a 2014 Dodge Journey?

Prices for a used 2014 Journey start around $13,000 for the base AVP (American Value Package) model and go up to about $18,000 for the range-topping R/T trim. The total cost of a used Journey can vary with each car’s condition, mileage, or location.

See the Best Used Car Deals »

We Did the Research for You: 43 Reviews Analyzed

We compiled and analyzed 43 published reviews to give you an idea of the Journey's strengths and weaknesses. We also added information on reliability, safety, and more to help you decide if the Journey is the right used crossover for you.

Why You Can Trust Us

Our staff has 75 years of combined experience in the automotive industry, and we've been ranking cars for a decade. To ensure our reviews remain unbiased, we don't accept expensive gifts or trips from automakers, and an outside partner places and sells the ads across our site.

How Reliable Is the 2014 Dodge Journey?

The Journey's reliability rating of three out of five is average among midsize SUVs and across the industry as a whole.

Read more about Journey reliability »

2014 Dodge Journey Safety

Score: 8.4/10.

The Journey has decent safety scores, though many midsize SUV rivals have high crash test ratings. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety gave the Journey the highest rating of Good in four out of five tests, but the lowest rating of Poor in the fifth – the small overlap front test. The Journey earned four out of five stars overall from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, with four stars in front and rollover crash tests and five stars in the side crash test. An available rearview camera and rear parking sensors are the Journey's only safety features. Some rivals offer advanced collision avoidance features like blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, or forward collision warning.

See Journey safety scores »

Should I Consider Another Used Journey?

The 2014 Journey is part of the SUV's current generation, which includes all model years from 2009 through 2017. There were no major changes between the 2012, 2013, and 2014 model years, so you may want to consider an older model to save some money.

Compare the 2012, 2013, and 2014 Journey »

Which Used Dodge Journey Is Right for Me?

Since the standard four-cylinder engine is so underwhelming, you'll want to skip the base and Dodge Journey SE trims and step up to at least the SXT trim to find a model with the V6. With the SXT, you'll also get satellite radio, fog lamps, and roof rails. The Limited trim comes standard with the V6, along with leather seats, heated front seats, dual-zone automatic climate control, the larger 8.4-inch touch screen, and Bluetooth. Unique styling elements and a sport-tuned suspension come in R/T models. You may be able to find a lower trim level with an option package that adds some features from upper trims.

A certified pre-owned Journey may suit you best. For certified pre-owned Dodge vehicles, the original new-car powertrain warranty is extended to seven years or 100,000 miles. CPO vehicles also get a three-month/3,000-mile Maximum Coverage Care warranty. There are restrictions related to mileage and models, so read the Dodge warranty page carefully.

Read more about certified pre-owned vehicles »

Read more about the Dodge certified pre-owned program »

2014 Dodge Journey and Other SUVs to Consider

Which is better: 2014 dodge journey or 2014 kia sorento.

The Kia Sorento and the Dodge Journey are fairly evenly matched. Both rivals have underwhelming base engines, available third-row seats, and identical reliability ratings. The Sorento comes standard with satellite radio and Bluetooth (both of which are only available in the Journey), but it lacks a standard infotainment system like the Dodge and has less upscale cabin materials. There are more available advanced safety features in the Sorento, like parking sensors and blind spot monitoring. It also has more overall cargo space and earns slightly higher fuel economy estimates – but it has higher ownership costs, too.

Which Is Better: 2014 Dodge Journey or 2014 Ford Edge?

As long as you don't need more than five seats, the Ford Edge is a much better crossover than the Journey. The Edge's engines are all powerful, its fuel economy estimates are higher, and it has more athletic handling. The Edge has a roomy, high-end interior, though most features are only available versus standard. The Edge is available with more safety features, and it gets a better safety score. It also has one of the highest reliability estimates in the class.

Which Is Better: 2014 Dodge Journey or 2014 Dodge Durango?

The Dodge Durango is worth a look if you're considering the Journey. The Durango comes standard with a strong V6 and is available with a brawny V8, too. It has more standard features, standard seating for seven, and significantly more cargo space. However, the Durango's fuel economy estimates and reliability rating are lower than those earned by the Journey.

Compare the Journey, Sorento, and Edge »

Other Years

Local inventory.

  • 2016 Dodge Journey For Sale
  • 2015 Dodge Journey For Sale
  • 2014 Dodge Journey For Sale
  • 2013 Dodge Journey For Sale
  • 2012 Dodge Journey For Sale
  • All Dodge Journey For Sale
  • All Dodge For Sale

Car Payment Calculators

Use our tools to calculate monthly payments or figure out which cars you can afford.

U.S. News Best Cars Awards

  • Best Cars for the Money
  • Best Cars for Families
  • Best Vehicle Brands

Journey Shoppers Should Also Consider

2014 Buick Enclave

# 1 in 2014 Affordable Midsize SUVs

2014 Hyundai Santa Fe

# 4 in 2014 Affordable Midsize SUVs

Ad-free. Influence-free. Powered by consumers.

The payment for your account couldn't be processed or you've canceled your account with us.

We don’t recognize that sign in. Your username maybe be your email address. Passwords are 6-20 characters with at least one number and letter.

We still don’t recognize that sign in. Retrieve your username. Reset your password.

Forgot your username or password ?

Don’t have an account?

  • Account Settings
  • My Benefits
  • My Products
  • Donate Donate

Save products you love, products you own and much more!

Other Membership Benefits:

Suggested Searches

  • Become a Member

Car Ratings & Reviews

2024 Top Picks

Car Buying & Pricing

Which Car Brands Make the Best Vehicles?

Car Maintenance & Repair

Car Reliability Guide

Key Topics & News

Listen to the Talking Cars Podcast

Home & Garden

Bed & Bath

Top Picks From CR

Best Mattresses

Lawn & Garden

TOP PICKS FROM CR

Best Lawn Mowers and Tractors

Home Improvement

Home Improvement Essential

Best Wood Stains

Home Safety & Security

HOME SAFETY

Best DIY Home Security Systems

REPAIR OR REPLACE?

What to Do With a Broken Appliance

Small Appliances

Best Small Kitchen Appliances

Laundry & Cleaning

Best Washing Machines

Heating, Cooling & Air

Most Reliable Central Air-Conditioning Systems

Electronics

Home Entertainment

FIND YOUR NEW TV

Home Office

Cheapest Printers for Ink Costs

Smartphones & Wearables

BEST SMARTPHONES

Find the Right Phone for You

Digital Security & Privacy

MEMBER BENEFIT

CR Security Planner

Take Action

Dodge Journey

Smaller than the typical mid-sized SUV, this version of the Journey is a dated and mediocre performer. It rides well and is quiet, but that's about all. It suffers from a lack of agility, lousy fuel economy from the optional 3.6-liter V6, a reluctant transmission, and a tiny third-row seat. Poor IIHS small overlap crash-test results add to the long list of demerits.

2014 SUVs Reliability

Chevrolet Travers...

Chevrolet Traverse

Ford Explorer

Honda Pilot

Hyundai Santa Fe

Crash and Rollover Tests

Dodge vs. other new car brands, owner reports, 2014 midsized suvs 3-row ratings.

In most cases, automotive warranties are based on the vehicle identification number (VIN), and the warranty will be valid regardless of ownership. The dealership can tell you exactly how much warranty is left.

  • 6-speed Automatic
  • 4-speed Automatic
  • 2.4-liter 4 (173 hp)
  • 3.6-liter V6 (283 hp)

The 2011 reworking brought a much nicer interior and a better V6, but the lack of agility and still-mediocre fuel economy keep it out of the top ranks. Plus it was more expensive than many better rivals. Poor IIHS small overlap crash-test results and below average owner satisfaction add to the long list of demerits. Three row seating became standard for 2018.  Ultimately, we think you'd be better served looking at something else. The V6 engine and all-wheel drive were dropped in 2020 and the Journey finally came to an end.

Oops! You no longer have digital access to ratings and reviews.

Reactivate now to get the information you were looking for!

You will get digital access to reviews and ratings for over 8,500 products and services to help you make better choices for life’s big moments and the everyday ones in between.

If you feel you have received this message in error, please view our customer care FAQs or access your account information here.

Autoblog

2014 Dodge Journey Review

  •   Engine 3.6L V6
  •   Power 283 HP / 260 LB-FT
  •   Transmission 6-Speed Auto
  •   Drivetrain All-Wheel Drive
  •   Curb Weight 4,238 LBS
  •   Seating 2+3+2
  •   Cargo 67.6 CU-FT (max)
  •   MPG 16 City / 24 HWY
  •   Base Price $28,395
  •   As Tested Price $32,315
  •   View All Specs

dodge journey 2014 reviews

  • The Crossroad builds on the well-equipped success of the mid-level Journey SXT Plus, and includes Chrysler's excellent 8.4-inch UConnect infotainment system with Bluetooth and satellite radio, as well as dual-zone climate control.
  • While the Crossroad doesn't add any new tech to the package, it butches up the looks of the mostly inconspicuous Journey body with off-road-inspired front and rear fascias that give the model more of a crossover look (the standard model can still look a lot like a minivan or wagon). That newfound attitude is furthered by the inclusion of 19-inch black-finish five-spoke wheels, dark chrome grille surrounds, smoked taillights and black headlight housings.
  • The Crossroad's cabin includes leather seats with "sport mesh" inserts, while liquid graphite trim pieces add some flash to the plasticky cabin. While they're largely from the Chrysler parts bin, the addition of a leather-wrapped wheel and gearshift knob (both part of the Crossroad trim) help elevate the cabin to a somewhat more premium feel.
  • Dodge offers a prehistoric 2.4-liter engine and four-speed automatic on the Journey, but we feel confident in saying you really don't want this. Instead, upgrade to the aforementioned 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 ($1,700 on the front-wheel-drive model, or $3,400 for the all-wheel-drive six-cylinder). This V6 sings to the tune of 283 horsepower and 260 pound-feet of torque, which is plenty of grunt for the 4,238-pounder. Adding the Pentastar also adds a six-speed automatic. The downside of this package, though, is that you'll be netting mediocre fuel economy – the best the Pentastar/AWD Journey can hope for is a dismal 16 miles per gallon in the city and 24 on the highway.
  • We shouldn't be surprised, but the Pentastar/6AT combination is still very good to drive several years after its debut. Power is abundant, and the V6's revvy nature makes it a surprising bit of fun. It sounds quite nice, too. The six-speed is quick on upshifts, although we found the Crossroad's unit to be slower than we remember on downshifts.
  • The ride isn't too objectionable. Secondary impacts (body shuddering and whatnot) can be present, but they only really popped up on some of the worst roads we came across. On smoother thoroughfares, there is nothing terribly offensive about the ride, aside from a excess of vertical movement, and the addition of 19-inch wheels has done surprisingly little to hurt the ride much, either.
  • The Journey's driving environment is a fairly typical one for the CUV market. The driver rides high, and the range of adjustment on the six-way power driver's seat is just fine. The seats themselves aren't heavily bolstered (a plus for easy ingress/egress), but we still think they'd be quite comfortable for long hauls.
  • Of course, the folks who buy the Journey aren't likely to be too interested in dynamic driving impressions. As a family vehicle, there's little reason to think that the Crossroad wouldn't make a suitable companion for those who need two rows everyday, but who appreciate the additional utility provided by an extra pair of seats. Space in the second row is certainly manageable for the longer-legged, although not surprisingly, the optional third row is somewhat cramped. Opting for the third row, though, does add a tilt/slide function to the second row and a recline function to the third, both of which are rather nice.
  • The third row does, however, have a big impact on cargo volume, as it shrinks from 37 cubic feet to just 10.7 cu ft when the back seats aren't stowed.
  • Prices for the Journey Crossroad start at a very reasonable $24,995 for a front-drive model, although the sticker will read at least $28,395 if you want something like our all-wheel-drive, V6-powered tester. From there, things can increase quickly. There are eight different optional packages that add everything from the aforementioned third-row seats, to a backup camera, upgraded stereo and heated seats. In our case, we had all of that, and then some.
  • With an as-tested price of $32,315, our Journey included a sunroof ($1,095), upgraded 368-watt, six-speaker stereo ($395), a navigation and backup camera pack ($995), a Popular Equipment package (heated seats and steering wheel, plus automatic headlamps for $995), a rear-seat entertainment system ($1,195) and the optional third-row seats, which added a tilt and sliding function for the second row ($1,500). As we mentioned earlier, we'd strongly recommend opting for the $3,400 AWD/Pentastar combo.

Autoblog accepts vehicle loans from auto manufacturers with a tank of gas and sometimes insurance for the purpose of evaluation and editorial content. Like most of the auto news industry, we also sometimes accept travel, lodging and event access for vehicle drive and news coverage opportunities. Our opinions and criticism remain our own – we do not accept sponsored editorial.

Autoblog Advertisement

More Journey Information

  • All Model Years
  • Journey News
  • Book Values
  • Dodge Dealers

2014 Dodge Journey trims (10)

(SE) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(SE) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(SXT) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(SXT) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(Crossroad) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(Crossroad) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(SE) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(SE) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(SXT) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(SXT) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(Crossroad) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(Crossroad) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(Limited) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(Limited) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(R/T) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(R/T) 4dr Front-Wheel Drive

(Limited) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(Limited) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(R/T) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

(R/T) 4dr All-Wheel Drive

Popular vehicles, featured makes, product guides.

  • The Best Electric Bikes
  • The Best Car Covers
  • The Best Portable Air Compressors
  • The Best Car GPS Trackers

dodge journey 2014 reviews

Just One More Thing…

dodge journey 2014 reviews

  • Account Settings
  • Aston Martin
  • Lamborghini
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Rolls-Royce

Car Reviews

Car comparisons, auto resources.

  • Auto Insurance
  • Auto Glass Repair
  • Auto Warranty
  • Product Roundups

2014 Dodge Journey R/T AWD Review

Sami Haj-Assaad

Introduced in 2008, the Journey is still a first-generation product and after All These Years is still considered to be a value oriented vehicle. For 2014, we got our hands on a fully loaded R/T model, which looks like a capable and versatile family hauler but raises the question: does this Dodge still deliver a deal when it’s generously optioned out?

It’s easy to see what makes the Journey so appealing – an MSRP of $20,990 means it’s quite affordable in its base form. If you find that model too limiting, a number of options help configure the Journey in a way that spans market segments. There’s a beefy 283 hp V6 available for those who want more power than the base four-cylinder, which makes just 173 hp. Front-wheel drive can be swapped for all-wheel drive and seating can increase from five seats to seven. Dodge can even add extra storage in the form of a compartment in the front passenger seat.

Clique-Crosser

Increasing sales per year mean that the Journey has been received with Open Arms thanks to its low price and family friendly versatility. Where the base model can hang with the CR-V in terms of price, passenger space and cargo capacity, the Journey makes available the option of more power and more seats than its competition.

The R/T model we have not only has the optional third row, but the extra two cylinders and extra drive wheels too. It also features a few extra interior goodies, including the Uconnect navigation system and red-accented leather upholstery. The only other vehicle in this class that can also offer a V6, all-wheel drive and seat seven is the fully loaded Mitsubishi Outlander, which is less powerful, offers less third-row headroom and is low on total cargo space compared to the Journey.

Equipped with the flexible seating package, the Journey’s second row gets tilt, slide and recline features in addition to the standard 60/40 split folding capability. Of course, the big draw of this package is the third row, which makes the Journey a possible minivan replacement. Sadly, these extra two seats are limited in terms of comfort, with just 23.4 inches of legroom and 37.7 inches of head room. It’s a good backup plan if you have to transport a few extra troops (and little ones at that) but if the question of Who’s Crying Now comes up, the answer will almost certainly be: someone in the third row.

The second row is far more comfortable offering up as much head-room as the segment leading Hyundai Santa Fe Sport. Legroom isn’t lacking either and back-seat passengers can even control their HVAC settings back there.

Cargo space is fantastic, with a total of 67.6 cubic feet of usable room. The cavernous trunk space was extremely helpful during home renovations, where the Journey proved capable of swallowing up an entire 30-inch bathroom vanity and mirror with no problems.

From The Lead Singer’s Chair

Finally, since all the important decisions are done by the folks in the front seats, the Journey R/T features comfy leather wrapped captain and co-pilot seats which also feature seat warmers. Especially appreciated during this cold weather was the heated steering wheel – a rare item in smaller crossovers.

Overall, the cabin uses soft-touch plastics to give the car a more premium feel and the always excellent Uconnect infotainment system was flawless during testing.

Rounding out the features of this R/T model is the standard 368-watt Infinity sound system which had us belting Don’t Stop Believing by Journey, in the Journey, with authentic enthusiasm. Other handy features added to our test vehicle included remote-start, navigation, a backup camera and parking sensors. While nice to have, it’s unfortunate that in a family-focused crossover like this the backup camera isn’t standard.

In case you haven’t noticed, there’s a bottomless pit of features, making this fully loaded model ring in at $35,325. While pricey, it is actually cheaper than a fully loaded Ford Escape.

Amped up Performance, Muted Fuel Economy

Poke the push-button start and the 3.6-liter Pentastar V6 engine roars to life. Where the 2.4-liter engine is a touch underpowered and paired to an ancient four-speed automatic, this V6 engine is Worlds Apart from its four-banger cousin. Paired with the all-wheel drive system and the six-speed automatic transmission, the Journey fulfills that rock star feeling of putting the foot down and taking off.

With nearly 300 hp on tap, it takes a lot to make this car feel like it’s run out of breath. One complaint is that the car gets noisy, a soundtrack comprising of engine and wind noise (not to mention occasional whining from the third row) that gets a bit grating on longer trips, so it’s a good thing that 368 watt sound system is standard.

Dodge claims that a high performance suspension setup is used in R/T models, along with a firmer feeling steering wheel but the handling characteristics of this vehicle aren’t too far on the wild-side. Worth mentioning is the cars Sweet and Simple driving feel, which was unexpected given the three-row setup and 4,238 lbs. curb weight. The all-wheel drive system is an on-demand setup, sending power to the rear-wheels when slip is detected. It worked well enough during a snowy winter, giving us that extra bit of confidence.

There are a few complaints with the vehicle’s powertrain. While it’s no doubt the best configuration of the crossover, the Journey is a bit on the loud side, especially during acceleration. Fuel economy is also a bit of a downer. We Faithfully saw 18 MPG during our week of testing in cold temperatures and snow. That’s not far off of the EPA estimated 19 MPG combined but other bigger V6 equipped three-row crossovers like the Santa Fe and Pathfinder can muster more miles per gallon.

In terms of looks, the Journey features the expected Dodge touches – a crosshair grille, sharply designed headlights, LED tail lights, along with fancy looking dual-chrome exhaust tips. It’s certainly cooler looking than a minivan.

The Verdict

Extremely versatile, the Journey is available Any Way You Want It : four-cylinders or six, up to three rows and all-wheel or front-wheel drive. While fuel efficiency could stand to be improved, the low starting price and sheer amount of affordable options help the value-packed Journey suit your needs.

  • Versatile configurations
  • Engine performance
  • Fuel economy
  • Tight third row

Sami Haj-Assaad

Sami has an unquenchable thirst for car knowledge and has been at AutoGuide for the past six years. He has a degree in journalism and media studies from the University of Guelph-Humber in Toronto and has won multiple journalism awards from the Automotive Journalist Association of Canada. Sami is also on the jury for the World Car Awards.

More by Sami Haj-Assaad

Join the conversation

Popular articles.

Car Owners are Driving Past Dealerships to Independent Repair Shops

Car Owners are Driving Past Dealerships to Independent Repair Shops

3 Buyer Types VW Thinks Will Buy the ID.Buzz, Which is Not a Minivan

3 Buyer Types VW Thinks Will Buy the ID.Buzz, Which is Not a Minivan

The Plug-in Hybrid With the Longest Range: Top 10 List

The Plug-in Hybrid With the Longest Range: Top 10 List

AWD Hatchbacks: Top 10 Lowest Priced

AWD Hatchbacks: Top 10 Lowest Priced

Affordable Cars With Surprisingly Higher-End Interiors: Top 10

Affordable Cars With Surprisingly Higher-End Interiors: Top 10

Latest comparisons.

2024 Porsche Cayenne S and Cayenne Coupe Review

2024 Porsche Cayenne S and Cayenne Coupe Review

What’s the Difference Between the 2023 and 2024 Subaru Crosstrek?

What’s the Difference Between the 2023 and 2024 Subaru Crosstrek?

Volkswagen Atlas SE Vs SEL: Which Trim is Right for You?

Volkswagen Atlas SE Vs SEL: Which Trim is Right for You?

Hyundai Palisade Vs Mazda CX-90 Comparison

Hyundai Palisade Vs Mazda CX-90 Comparison

Toyota Corolla LE Vs Nissan Sentra SR Comparison

Toyota Corolla LE Vs Nissan Sentra SR Comparison

Car buying tools.

  • How to Buy a Car
  • Free dealer Price Quote

You may also be interested in

Best Small SUV | Testing (almost) Every Compact SUV

Best Small SUV | Testing (almost) Every Compact SUV

Affordable Cars With Surprisingly Higher-End Interiors: Top 10

2015 Dodge Journey Five-Point Inspection

Chicago 2011: Dodge Journey R/T Debuts

Chicago 2011: Dodge Journey R/T Debuts

2021 Dodge Durango R/T Tow N Go Review: Big Red Dinosaur

2021 Dodge Durango R/T Tow N Go Review: Big Red Dinosaur

2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack Review

2015 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack Review

2019 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack Widebody Review

2019 Dodge Challenger R/T Scat Pack Widebody Review

Fiat Announces Next 500e Special Editions for US and Canada

Fiat Announces Next 500e Special Editions for US and Canada

66 Years of the Nissan Skyline in 44 Photos

66 Years of the Nissan Skyline in 44 Photos

Ferrari Patents Unholy Upside-Down Twin-Charged Hydrogen Inline-Six

Ferrari Patents Unholy Upside-Down Twin-Charged Hydrogen Inline-Six

Audi Digs In On In-Car Subscriptions While Others Falter

Audi Digs In On In-Car Subscriptions While Others Falter

Lucid Makes The Switch To Tesla-Style NACS Connector

Lucid Makes The Switch To Tesla-Style NACS Connector

Hyundai's New Santa Fe is Ready for the Pavement and Dirt

Hyundai's New Santa Fe is Ready for the Pavement and Dirt

The Fastest Selling Used Cars All Have One Thing in Common

The Fastest Selling Used Cars All Have One Thing in Common

The Toyota EPU Concept Looks Just Right For North America

The Toyota EPU Concept Looks Just Right For North America

The Last Chevrolet Camaro Has Been Made

The Last Chevrolet Camaro Has Been Made

Honda Surprises Everyone With Prelude Hybrid Concept

Honda Surprises Everyone With Prelude Hybrid Concept

2024 BMW i4 xDrive40 First Drive Review: Gold-EV-Locks

2024 BMW i4 xDrive40 First Drive Review: Gold-EV-Locks

CarsGuide Logo

  • Sell my car
  • My Shortlist

Sign up / Sign in

  • New to Carsguide? Sign up
  • Welcome back! Sign in
  • Edit Profile
  • Find a Dealer
  • What car should I buy?
  • Instant Cash Offer

Browse over 9,000 car reviews

Family focused reviews and advice for everything family car related.

Off-road for beginners and the experienced, plus camper trailers, caravans and motorhomes

Utes, commercial vehicles and tow tests

We make it easy to compare design, practicality, value and more

Buying used? Here's what to look out for and buy smart

Your thoughts could drive you to more than just your next destination 🚗💬

Buying guides

Our experts pick the top models

  • People mover
  • Convertible

What's happening in the automotive world

Get to know the personalities behind the team every week

The stars of the latest big events

The most interesting hints of what's to come

What's been recalled and why. Are you affected?

The latest and future car tech from around the world

We're here to help you with any car issues

Looking for tips on how to carry or travel with your family?

How To, off-road tips and adventure travel destinations

Not just utes. Detailed advice for you - the tradie - on what car is right for you and your job

Looking for an answer? Our automotive experts are here to help

If you're wondering, we've probably got the answer

Unsure of your car's maximum towing capacity? We've listed all relevant models here.

Wondering how much air to put in your tyres? Our database has the answer

Everything you need to know to keep you and your family as safe as possible

Helpful advice before you finance your next car

Tips for getting the right insurance and how to make a claim

Everything you need to know when sizing up your new car

  • pricing + specs

adventure guide

  • Trips and Trails
  • Camper-trailer Reviews

family guide

  • Family Advice
  • 7 Seat SUVs

tradie guide

urban guide

  • Armstrong Siddeley
  • Asia Motors
  • Aston Martin
  • Austin Healey
  • Automobili Pininfarina
  • Corsa Specialized Vehicles
  • EV Automotive
  • International
  • Lamborghini
  • Mercedes-Benz
  • Mitsubishi Fuso
  • Pininfarina
  • Rolls-Royce
  • Vanden Plas

Dodge Journey 2014

What's on this page

  • Towing capacity
  • Price and Specs
  • Fuel consumption

Dodge Journey 2014

This is what Ewan Kennedy liked most about this particular version of the Dodge Journey: Versatile interior, Easy to drive for a 7 seater, Plenty of stowage

The 2014 Dodge Journey carries a braked towing capacity of up to 1100 Kg, but check to ensure this applies to the configuration you're considering.

The Dodge Journey is also known as the Fiat Freemont (Australia, the Europe, the Brazil, the China, the South Korea), the Dodge JC (Japan) and the Dodge JCUV (China) in markets outside Australia.

Dodge Journey 2014 Reviews

Used Dodge Journey review: 2008-2015

Used Dodge Journey review: 2008-2015

Ewan Kennedy reviews the 2008, 2012 and 2015 Dodge Journey as a used buy. Despite looking like a macho SUV, perhaps even a full-on 4WD, the...

Ewan Kennedy reviews the 2008, 2012 and 2015 Dodge Journey as a used buy. Despite looking like a macho SUV, perhaps...

Dodge Journey 2014 for sale

 alt=

Dodge Journey 2014 Q&As

Check out real-world situations relating to the Dodge Journey here, particularly what our experts have to say about them.

Even though the Journey was not a particularly popular model in Australia, I’m still a bit surprised that we don’t get this question a bit more often. Because the answer is a real doozie. While a lot of car-makers find that underbonnet space is too limited to place a battery, some resort to locating the battery either under a seat inside the car or in the boot. But not Dodge in the case of the Journey.

To access the battery in that case, you need to jack up the car, remove the front passenger’s wheel, peel back the plastic inner-guard and there, behind the corner of the front bumper, you will find the battery. For jump starting a car with a flat battery, Dodge placed a positive and negative terminal in the engine bay near the front-left suspension tower, and you’ll identify the positive by a small, red plastic cap with a `+’ moulded into it.

Definitely not the Journey ; the Territory is solid and good value; but my current favourite in the class is the Kia Sorento . It gets The Tick and is well worth the extra, even though the starting price of $40,990 is well beyond the $33,500 base of the Journey.

Brake wear is a serious problem with the Journey as we reported in  our used car review recently. Your experience is common. Some owners have had success in getting Chrysler to cough up for the new pads and rotors when their cars are under warranty, like yours is, so I would continue to press your case with the company. The unfortunate thing  is that you can expect to have to replace the brakes at regular intervals of the sort you've already experienced for the life of the car. I would suggest legal action if you feel strongly about it.

Dodge Journey 2014 Towing capacity

The Dodge Journey has maximum towing capacity of 1100kg. Some models also offer heavy-duty or towing option packs which can increase towing capacity, as well as options which can hamper towing capacity. Towing capacities can vary wildly on a large number of factors. These include engine, transmission, model, and options chosen. Always check with the manufacturer or in your vehicles handbook before attempting to tow anything.

Dodge Journey 2014 Price and Specs

Pricing guides.

dodge journey 2014 reviews

Dodge Journey 2014 Dimensions

Dimensions for the 2014 Dodge Journey are dependent on which body type is chosen. The maximum width and height is 1878mm x 1691mm and can vary on the basis of model.

Dimensions for the Dodge Journey 2014 Dimensions  include 1691mm height, 1878mm width, 4888mm length.

Dodge Journey 2014 Fuel consumption

Fuel consumption for the 2014 Dodge Journey is dependent on the type of engine, transmission, or model chosen. The Dodge Journey currently offers fuel consumption from 10.4 to 10.4L/100km. The Dodge Journey is available with the following fuel type: PULP.

Dodge Journey 2014 Wheel size

Wheel size for the 2014 Dodge Journey will vary depending on model chosen, although keep in mind that many manufacturers offer alternate wheel sizes as options on many models.The wheel size available will alter the range of tyres available to be fitted. Standard wheel sizes on the Dodge Journey vary from 17x6.5 inches to 19x7 inches.

Dodge Journey 2014 News

BMW, Mazda, FCA, Citroen and Peugeot models recalled

BMW, Mazda, FCA, Citroen and Peugeot models recalled

Dodge likely to be axed

Dodge likely to be axed

Dodge Journey R/T joins SXT

Dodge Journey R/T joins SXT

Cars.com

  • Cars for Sale
  • New Cars NEW
  • Research & Reviews
  • News & Videos
  • Sell Your Car
  • Instant Offer
  • Sign in with Google
  • Sign in with Facebook
  • Sign in with Apple

2014 Dodge Journey consumer reviews

side view of 2014 Journey Dodge

  • Comfort 4.6
  • Interior 4.4
  • Performance 4.1
  • Exterior 4.4
  • Reliability 4.2

2014 Dodge Journey

This vehicle is my wife's. She really loves the way it drives, the comfort and hauling room. The car is pristine and looks brand new.

  • Comfort 5.0
  • Interior 5.0
  • Performance 5.0
  • Exterior 5.0
  • Reliability 5.0
  • Purchased a Used car
  • Used for Commuting
  • Does recommend this car

Reliable best value for the miney

I love this car love the car like handling for a suv. Only problem I have had is my key fab messed up and had to take to the dealer but ended up being a recall issue and got it fixed for free!

  • Interior 4.0

2014 dodge journey is junk

This car is terrible for power steering lines blowing non stop, changed the return line twice in 1 day and call dodge for remedy after recall was done and no help and still have the problem ,would not buy another 1!

  • Comfort 3.0
  • Interior 3.0
  • Performance 2.0
  • Exterior 2.0
  • Reliability 1.0
  • Used for Transporting family
  • Does not recommend this car

A money pit! $5406.04 in repair costs and counting

I purchased my used 2014 Dodge Journey from Dave Sinclair Dodge in Pacific, MO in 2016. Recently my check engine light came on. I took it to a reputable local mechanic (Sellenriek Automotive in St. Louis, MO) and they said that I needed an "R & R intake manifold & replace engine oil cooler assmembly." Shortly thereafter it needed a new alternator: $1532.29 on 11/11/19 for those repaires. My check engine light immediately came back on two days after these repairs and then my transmission went out: $3074.63 on 12/4/19 to replace my transmission. I picked up my car to find the check engine light still on!! Sellenriek shut the check engine light off and told me to come back in when it came back on. I came back two days later for them to say they didn't know what was wrong but that my car was safe to drive. I had to take a trip 170 miles away the next day and Sellenriek said that my car would be fine on the highway... Wrong!! It wouldn't start when I attempted to return home. I had to have my car towed to Beachler's Vehicle Repair in Peoria Illinois. They installed a new starter: $637.12 on 12/9/19. With my having spent $5244.04 within a span of a month, I decided to take it in to the local Dodge dealership. David Taylor Royal Gate Dodge in Ellisville Missouri charged me $162 to diagnose my check engine light issue and tell me they didn't know what was wrong but for an additional $512 they could open up my engine and tell me how much more money I would need to spend. I don't know what to do. Should I go on and keep throwing money into this car? I called Dodge Corporate and they said that because my repairs hadn't been at a Dodge dealership, there's nothing they can do. I just asked that they would tell me what's wrong with the vehicle without charging me additional diagnostic fees. I'll pay any additional repair fees. They declined. I have paid $5406.04 in repair costs in the last month and a half. My engine is loud and the the check engine light remains on. NO one can tell me what's wrong but everyone seems eager to take my money. I am so angry, broke, and disgusted! I would suggest that no one ever buys a Dodge Journey (unless you wanna buy mine!)!!

  • Comfort 4.0
  • Performance 1.0
  • Exterior 4.0

Just bought it and like it.

This is my second vehicle. My first was a Chevy Cavalier that rusted apart. Only had if for a couple weeks so far and loving the comfort, performance and overall style. Gas mileage isnt that great but still a good ride.

  • Performance 4.0
  • Reliability 3.0

Very reliable vehicle

We bought this car new in 2014. It has exceeded our expectations. It has required no major repairs. We have only had routine maintenance on it. It's large enough to accommodate people and cargo as we need. I am pleased we chose this vehicle.

  • Purchased a New car

Love everything about it

This car is very spacious, comfortable and the 3rd row seat was a big selling point for me. I love the ease of use with all the controls.

  • Reliability —

I got what I wanted, even the color ..

It exceeded my expectation. Few interior things but nothing big i can't fix or that looks bad. Very confortable for traveling with kids. Back seat folds down and made them a bed. Spacious and great for freeway drives. I'm enjoying my Journey on my Life Journey . When I joked about liking red cars I didn't think they would actually look for a red car. When they called me and told me we have a car for you, as soon as I got to the dealer and saw it parked I knew it was my car. I'm thankful for it and the help to be able to afford it.

Just bought it but I like it

I Really like the interior room. It has Great leg room for Very tall passengers. Very Smooth test ride . The Size fits my needs.

Dodge Journey sxt

Although the car has 3rd row seating and comes with some updates from the end of this current decade, the car itself seems like it will face many car servicing. From the Bluetooth not connecting properly, USB ports not charging, loud engine noise and car acceleration issues. Very disappointing.

  • Exterior 3.0
  • Remember me Not recommended on shared computers

Forgot your password?

Or sign in with one of these services

  • Russia, Ukraine and Belarus

DCF Moscow: Interview experience & advice

By millefleur March 25, 2017 in Russia, Ukraine and Belarus

  • Register to Reply or Ask a Question
  • Go to first unread post

6 posts in this topic

Recommended posts, millefleur   5,016.

Hi everyone,

I posted a detailed review in the Consulate reviews section, so if you're interested you can read it here .

I had no problem getting into the Embassy because we called and emailed beforehand to make sure my name was on the list. If you are the petitioner and are planning to accompany your spouse, definitely do this as it'll just be one less bit of stress for you in this process. Indeed, they had a separate list and I saw my name there, so they check these kinds of things.

There were A LOT of people there, a huge line outside the Embassy, but it moved very quickly. The immigrant visa area was also jam packed and crowded with people. We were number 10 in the line. The whole process took about 3 hours from start to finish, mostly just waiting until we were called. Get there early! I'd imagine the later you come, the longer you will wait. We arrived at 8:00am, but our official appointment was 8:30am.

Registration/fingerprinting:

This process took only a few minutes, but we had to wait for about an hour and a half before they called our number.

The registration woman asked my husband his age and his name, where he is working, has he ever had any other names and if he has lived anywhere else besides Russia. She then asked for the following documents:

- Original Russian marriage certificate (no copy/translation necessary; it was returned after the interview)

- Original Russian birth certificate (no copy/translation necessary; it was returned after the interview)

- Original military ticket/booklet (they asked us for a copy as well, we handed them a complete copy with a complete translation and they kept it; the original was returned after the interview)

- Original police certificate (they also asked for a copy, so we gave her the copy plus translation, but they kept the original. This was the only original document they didn't return to us.)

- My husband's foreign passport (no copy was necessary)

The lady then asked for "financial documents," by which she meant the Affidavit of Support (I-864). I handed her a huge stack of these papers which included:

- Letter of explanation for why I wasn't required to file taxes

- Cover letter explaining my proof of domicile in the US, plus evidence to support that (voting record, mail received at US address, letter of resignation from job in Russia, etc.)

- My joint sponsor's I-864 (the lady asked me: "Is this your mother?" and I affirmed that my mom was the joint-sponsor.)

- Cover letter written by my joint sponsor explaining her financial situation

- My joint sponsor's household member I-864A form

- My joint sponsor's IRS transcripts for the last three years, and copies of W-2 forms as well

- My joint sponsor's bank statements for the last 12 months (this was necessary because we used assets)

- My joint sponsor's proof of US domicile, including US birth certificate, marriage certificate (because of the household member), and copies of the joint sponsor and household member's passports.

After all that, they took my husband's fingerprints. We then waited another hour and they called our number again, this time for the interview.  

Our interview was extremely short, much shorter than what I had read and heard about previous DCF Moscow experiences. The IO was extremely friendly. Both my husband and I went into the interview room together, and I thought that perhaps they would separate us and interview us separately, but I just sat down and she started interviewing us together. First, my husband took the oath in Russian, and then she started asking him questions in English. She asked him only two questions: "What do you do for work?" and "How did the two of you meet?". She typed in some information while he was answering. After that, she asked me three questions: "Does your mother (joint sponsor) have anyone else in her household (brothers or sisters)?" "How long have you been living in Russia?" and "Where are you planning to move back to in the US?" She also was a bit confused by the huge stack of papers, and she asked me if my mom had filled out an I-864, I told her yes, it's there in the pile somewhere. She found it and then she asked my husband when he had taken the medical exam, we explained that we'd done it a few days earlier. Then she said that "Everything looks great" and that as soon as the results of the medical are in, we should expect the approved visa to arrive about a week later. She basically told us we were approved! Woohoo! (They kept the passport obviously.)

I just want to say thanks to everyone on VJ! I seriously couldn't have done it without this site. Thanks again for everyone's input and advice!

  • Dashinka , TBoneTX and JSWH

Like

🇷🇺 CR-1 via DCF (Dec 2016-Jun 2017) & I-751 ROC (Apr 2019-Oct 2019) 🌹

Info about my  DCF Moscow* experience  here and here

26-Jul-2016: Married abroad in Russia 👩‍❤️‍👨   See guide here 21-Dec-2016: I-130 filed at Moscow USCIS field office* 29-Dec-2016: I-130 approved! Yay!  🎊  

17-Jan-2017: Case number received

21-Mar-2017: Medical Exam completed

24-Mar-2017: Interview at Embassy - approved! 🎉

29-Mar-2017: CR-1 Visa received (via mail)

02-Apr-2017: USCIS Immigrant (GC) Fee paid

28-Jun-2017: Port of Entry @ PDX 🛩️

21-Jul-2017: No SSN after three weeks; applied in person at the SSA

22-Jul-2017: GC arrived in the mail 📬

31-Jul-2017: SSN arrived via mail, hurrah!

*NOTE: The USCIS Field Office in Moscow is now CLOSED as of February 28th, 2019.

Removal of Conditions - MSC Service Center

  28-Jun-2019: Conditional GC expires

30-Mar-2019: Eligible to apply for ROC

01-Apr-2019: ROC in the mail to Phoenix AZ lockbox! 📫

03-Apr-2019: ROC packet delivered to lockbox

09-Apr-2019: USCIS cashed check

09-Apr-2019: Case number received via text - MSC 📲

12-Apr-2019: Extension letter arrives via mail

19-Apr-2019: Biometrics letter arrives via mail

30-Apr-2019: Biometrics appointment at local office

26-Jun-2019: Case ready to be scheduled for interview  ⌛

04-Sep-2019: Interview was scheduled - letter to arrive in mail

09-Sep-2019: Interview letter arrived in the mail!  ✉️

17-Oct-2019: Interview scheduled @ local USCIS  

18-Oct-2019: Interview cancelled & notice ordered*

18-Oct-2019: Case was approved!   🎉

22-Oct-2019: Card was mailed to me  📨

23-Oct-2019: Card was picked by USPS 

25-Oct-2019: 10 year GC Card received in mail  📬

*I don't understand this status because we DID have an interview!

🇺🇸 N-400 Application for Naturalization (Apr 2020-Jun 2021)   🛂

Filed during Covid-19 & moved states 1 month after filing

30-Mar-2020: N-400 early filing window opens!

01-Apr-2020: Filed N-400 online 💻  

02-Apr-2020: NOA 1 - Receipt No. received online 📃

07-Apr-2020: NOA 1 - Receipt No. received via mail

05-May-2020: Moved to another state, filed AR-11 online

05-May-2020: Application transferred to another USCIS field office for review ➡️

15-May-2020: AR-11 request to change address completed

16-Jul-2020: Filed non-receipt inquiry due to never getting confirmation that case was transferred to new field office

15-Oct-2020: Received generic response to non-receipt inquiry, see full response here

10-Feb-2021: Contacted senator's office for help with USCIS

12-Feb-2021: Received canned response from senator's office that case is within processing time 😡

16-Feb-2021: Contacted other senator's office for help with USCIS - still no biometrics

19-Feb-2021: Biometrics reuse notice - canned response from other senator's office 🌐

23-Feb-2021: Interview scheduled - notice to come in the mail

25-Feb-2021: Biometrics reuse notice arrives via mail

01-Mar-2021: Interview notice letter arrives via mail   ✉️  

29-Mar-2021: Passed interview at local office! Oath Ceremony to be scheduled

13-Apr-2021: Oath Ceremony notice was mailed

04-May-2021: Oath Ceremony scheduled 🎆 Unable to attend due to illness

04-May-2021: Mailed request to reschedule Oath to local office

05-May-2021: "You did not attend your Oath Ceremony" - notice to come in the mail

06-May-2021: Oath Ceremony will be scheduled, date TBA

12-May-2021: Oath Ceremony re-scheduled for June 3rd, then de-scheduled same day 😡  

25-May-2021: New Oath Ceremony notice was mailed

16-Jun-2021: Oath Ceremony scheduled 🎆 - DONE!!

17-Jun-2021: Certificate of Naturalization issued

🎆 Members new and old: don't forget to fill in your VJ timeline! 🎇 https://www.visajourney.com/timeline/

Link to comment

Share on other sites.

Whoops, forgot to add:

We also had to bring 2 passport-sized photos and were asked to present them with the other docs during registration.

TBoneTX

TBoneTX   42,709

As usual, a thoroughly detailed and immensely helpful post.

What a relief for you, and you must be on Cloud 9!

06-04-2007 = TSC stamps postal return-receipt for I-129f.

06-11-2007 = NOA1 date (unknown to me).

07-20-2007 = Phoned Immigration Officer; got WAC#; where's NOA1?

09-25-2007 = Touch (first-ever).

09-28-2007 = NOA1, 23 days after their 45-day promise to send it (grrrr).

10-20 & 11-14-2007 = Phoned ImmOffs; "still pending."

12-11-2007 = 180 days; file is "between workstations, may be early Jan."; touches 12/11 & 12/12.

12-18-2007 = Call; file is with Division 9 ofcr. (bckgrnd check); e-prompt to shake it; touch.

12-19-2007 = NOA2 by e-mail & web, dated 12-18-07 (187 days; 201 per VJ); in mail 12/24/07.

01-09-2008 = File from USCIS to NVC , 1-4-08; NVC creates file, 1/15/08; to consulate 1/16/08.

01-23-2008 = Consulate gets file; outdated Packet 4 mailed to fiancee 1/27/08; rec'd 3/3/08.

04-29-2008 = Fiancee's 4-min. consular interview, 8:30 a.m.; much evidence brought but not allowed to be presented (consul: "More proof! Second interview! Bring your fiance!").

05-05-2008 = Infuriating $12 call to non-English-speaking consulate appointment-setter.

05-06-2008 = Better $12 call to English-speaker; "joint" interview date 6/30/08 (my selection).

06-30-2008 = Stokes Interrogations w/Ecuadorian (not USC); "wait 2 weeks; we'll mail her."

07-2008 = Daily calls to DOS: "currently processing"; 8/05 = Phoned consulate, got Section Chief; wrote him.

08-07-08 = E-mail from consulate, promising to issue visa "as soon as we get her passport" (on 8/12, per DHL).

08-27-08 = Phoned consulate (they "couldn't find" our file); visa DHL'd 8/28; in hand 9/1; through POE on 10/9 with NO hassles(!).

Dashinka

Dashinka   22,943

First of all Congrats!  I am glad to hear you and your husband were approved.  Also, thanks for the detailed review, I am sure this will be helpful for others that follow on the DCF route.

Visa Received : 2014-04-04 (K1 - see timeline for details)

US Entry : 2014-09-12

POE: Detroit

Marriage : 2014-09-27

I-765 Approved: 2015-01-09

I-485 Interview: 2015-03-11

I-485 Approved: 2015-03-13

Green Card Received: 2015-03-24 Yeah!!!

I-751 ROC Submitted: 2016-12-20

I-751 NOA Received:   2016-12-29

I-751 Biometrics Appt.:  2017-01-26

I-751 Interview:   2018-04-10

I-751 Approved:   2018-05-04

N400 Filed:   2018-01-13

N400 Biometrics:   2018-02-22

N400 Interview:   2018-04-10

N400 Approved:  2018-04-10

Oath Ceremony:  2018-06-11 - DONE!!!!!!!

redleg627   15

Congratz !. Big relief. Soon you will be able to hang up those winter parkas and forget about snow for a awhile !.

Visa Received: 2015-03-02 (K1 - See timeline for details) US Entry: 2015-04-09 POE: Portland, OR Marriage: 2015-06-20 I-485/I-756 Sent: 2015-06-30 EAD Card Received: 2015-10-02     I-485 Approval: 2016-01-13 Greencard Received: 2016-01-23

I-751 Filed ROC: 2017-10-18

I-751 Received NOA1 18mo. Extension: 2018-10-16

N-400 Filed Online: 2018-11-25

I-751 Interview/Approval: 2019-05-22

N-400 Interview/Approval: 2019-05-22

Citizenship Oath: 2019-09-21

:D

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Already have an account? Sign in here.

  • Existing user? Sign In
  • Immigration Guides
  • Immigration Wiki
  • Example Immigration Forms
  • Form Downloads
  • K1 Fiancé Visa
  • CR1 & IR1 Spousal Visa
  • US Visa FAQs

Office Reviews & Info

  • Consulate & USCIS Office Reviews
  • US Port of Entry Reviews
  • US Consulate Information
  • Processing Times
  • Immigration Timelines
  • VJ Partners
  • Ask a Lawyer
  • All Activity
  • Popular Topics
  • Create New...
  • Dodge Journey
  • Used 2014 Dodge Journey
  • Used 2014 Dodge Journey SXT SUV

Used 2014 Dodge Journey SXT SUV Review

2014 Dodge Journey

Consumer reviews

Read what other owners think about the 2014 dodge journey sxt suv., most helpful consumer reviews, don't even try, 2014 dodge journey / dodges suv secret, edmunds summary review of the 2014 dodge journey sxt suv.

Pros & Cons

  • Pro: Seating for up to seven
  • Pro: available built-in booster seats
  • Pro: useful interior storage solutions
  • Pro: smart touchscreen interface.
  • Con: Weak acceleration on four-cylinder version
  • Con: below-average fuel economy for the class.

Full Edmunds Review: 2014 Dodge Journey SUV

The 2014 Dodge Journey receives minor trim level updates but is otherwise unchanged.

Edmunds says

An available V6 engine and a third-row seat make the 2014 Dodge Journey a decent pick for families on a budget, but overall it falls short of newer crossovers with more powerful four-cylinder engines and better fuel mileage ratings.

Vehicle overview

The 2014 Dodge Journey is a roomy, versatile crossover SUV that straddles the divide between compact and midsize utility vehicles. It's one of the few remaining crossovers in its price range that offers both an available V6 engine and a third-row seat. In addition, its interior is pleasant, well-trimmed and comfortable. However, in a segment full of strong competitors, the Journey comes up short in a couple of critical areas.

A lackluster four-cylinder engine is by far the weakest link on the 2014 Dodge Journey. Not only is acceleration sluggish on this version but fuel economy is well below average, mainly due to Dodge's continued use of an outdated four-speed automatic transmission. If you're going to buy a Dodge Journey, it's worth springing for the optional 3.6-liter V6 -- something you'll have to do anyway if you want all-wheel drive, which isn't offered with the four-cylinder. The six-cylinder is potent and smooth, and paired with a more modern six-speed automatic transmission. Of course, equipping your Journey with the V6 also raises the price by several thousand dollars.

If you can get past those issues, the 2014 Dodge Journey can be more useful for families than some other compact SUVs. It has an optional third row of seating appropriately sized for two small children, and you can get built-in booster seats in the second row. There are useful storage areas, too. You can store snacks and cold drinks in bins built into the floor of the second-row seating area, and a compartment under the front passenger seat is handy for stashing valuables.

These conveniences are certainly nice to have, but consumers have plenty of choices for a compact or midsize utility vehicle. The popular 2014 Honda CR-V is one of our favorites and an excellent pick if you want a small crossover with a refined, fuel-efficient four-cylinder engine and don't need a third row of seating. Rivals like the Mazda CX-5 and Ford Escape feel sportier from behind the wheel and also offer superior fuel economy.

Among the seven-passenger vehicles in this price range, the newer 2014 Hyundai Santa Fe and 2014 Kia Sorento stand out for their smooth V6 engines, superior mpg ratings and slightly larger interiors. Base versions of the Kia are comparable in price to the Journey, but higher-line versions of the Sorento and Santa Fe cost significantly more. If you're on a tight budget but still need three rows of seating, the Mazda 5 minivan is a good alternative to the four-cylinder Journey.

Based on the strength of the competition, the 2014 Dodge Journey is not among our top picks for a seven-passenger crossover. However, if you run across a good deal on a V6 model, it's still worth a test-drive.

2014 Dodge Journey models

The 2014 Dodge Journey is available in five- and seven-passenger configurations. It is available in American Value Package (AVP), SE, SXT, Limited and R/T trim levels.

The American Value Package comes standard with 17-inch steel wheels, heated mirrors, keyless ignition/entry, cruise control, dual-zone manual climate control, a height-adjustable driver seat, a tilt-and-telescoping steering wheel, a sliding and reclining second-row seat and a six-speaker sound system with a compact 4.3-inch touchscreen interface, a CD player, an auxiliary audio jack and an iPod/USB audio interface.

The SE adds tinted glass, roof rails and LED taillights. Moving up to the SXT adds 17-inch alloy wheels, foglamps, unique front/rear fascias, a cargo cover and net, and satellite radio.

The Limited adds a V6 engine as standard, remote start, 19-inch alloy wheels, automatic headlamps, leather upholstery, heated front seats, a heated steering wheel, a six-way power driver seat (with four-way lumbar adjustment), dual-zone automatic climate control, Bluetooth phone and audio connectivity, an 8.4-inch touchscreen audio display, an auto-dimming rearview mirror, a 115-volt power outlet and a fold-flat front passenger seat with hidden storage bin.

The R/T includes all the Limited features (minus the roof rails) and adds a monochrome exterior treatment, special 19-inch wheels, a sport-tuned suspension, black perforated-leather upholstery with red stitching and a premium audio system.

Many of the features on the Limited and R/T are available on the lower trims via option packages. Other available features (depending on trim) include the Blacktop package (gloss black 19-inch wheels, grille and exterior trim), a sunroof, rear parking sensors, a rearview camera, a folding and reclining third-row seat, three-zone automatic climate control (with rear air-conditioning), integrated second-row child booster seats, a rear-seat entertainment system, a navigation system (paired with the 8.4-inch touchscreen) and Wi-Fi connectivity.

dodge journey 2014 reviews

Performance & mpg

The 2014 Dodge Journey AVP, SE and SXT are powered by a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine that produces 173 horsepower and 166 pound-feet of torque. A four-speed automatic transmission is standard, and you can only get front-wheel drive with this engine. Fuel economy ratings are 21 mpg combined (19 city/26 highway) – well below average for a four-cylinder crossover.

Optional on the SXT and standard on the Limited and R/T is a 3.6-liter V6. It's good for 283 hp and 260 lb-ft and is matched to a six-speed automatic. Front-wheel drive is standard and all-wheel drive is optional. We recorded a 7.8-second 0-60-mph time in a front-drive, V6-equipped Journey, which is about average for a V6 crossover in this price range. Fuel economy stands at 19 mpg combined (17 mpg city/25 mpg highway) with front-wheel drive and 19 mpg combined (16/24) with all-wheel drive; both are below average for a V6-powered crossover in this price range.

Every 2014 Dodge Journey comes standard with antilock disc brakes, traction and stability control, active front head restraints, front side airbags, side curtain airbags and a driver knee airbag. Integrated second-row child booster seats and rear parking sensors are optional on every Journey. A rearview camera is available as an option on the SXT, Limited and R/T.

In Edmunds brake testing, a Journey V6 FWD came to a stop from 60 mph in 124 feet, an average performance for this class.

In government crash tests, the Journey received four out of five stars for overall crash protection, with four stars awarded for frontal-impact protection and five stars for side-impact protection. In crash testing by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the Journey received the top score of "Good" in the moderate-overlap frontal-offset, side-impact and roof-strength tests.

The 2014 Dodge Journey has different personalities depending on which engine you choose. The four-cylinder engine is noisy and really doesn't have enough power to get this heavy crossover moving. The outdated four-speed automatic transmission that comes with this engine does the Journey no favors in the fuel economy department, either.

Accordingly, we'd avoid the four-cylinder entirely and step up to the 3.6-liter V6, which feels potent in any situation. Unfortunately, fuel economy is still below average, and the six-speed automatic transmission can be slow to respond when a downshift is needed.

Around town, the Journey provides a smooth ride. However, the steering is on the slow side, and you might find yourself having to make more hand movements than you would otherwise prefer. When driven harder through turns, the Journey's body leans noticeably. Overall, the Journey just doesn't present much in the way of confidence-inspiring handling.

Inside, the Dodge Journey's materials are high in quality, the design is clean and modern and the available technology is pretty easy to use. We especially like the 8.4-inch touchscreen interface offered in all models except the SE. It's intuitive to use and is available with or without navigation.

Other strengths for the Journey include clever storage bins built into the floor, and options such as a fold-flat front passenger seat and integrated child booster seats for the second row that make life easier for families. Also helping that cause is the Journey's available third-row seat, which is bundled with a separate rear air-conditioner. This seat is far from adult-friendly, but if you need to take a couple extra kids to a T-ball game, it's handy.

The Dodge offers a total cargo capacity of 67.6 cubic feet with all its rear seats folded. That's a few cubes smaller than competitors likes the Sorento and CR-V, but more space than the Chevy Equinox.

Edmunds Insurance Estimator

The Edmunds TCO ® estimated monthly insurance payment for a 2014 Dodge   Journey in North Dakota is:

Related Used 2014 Dodge Journey SXT SUV info

Recent automotive news.

  • $35K Sports Car Shootout: BRZ tS vs. Civic Si vs. Elantra N vs. MX-5 Miata
  • The 2025 Hyundai Ioniq 5 N Starts at $67,475
  • 2024 Lincoln Nautilus First Drive: One Feature to Sell it All
  • Ford Bronco vs. Mercedes-Benz G 550: Can You Go Pro for Less?
  • Updated VW ID.4 EV Is Much Quicker and Goes Farther in Our Testing
  • IIHS Gives Most Advanced Driver Assistance Systems a Failing Grade
  • The 2024 Polestar 3 Is Now Cheaper: Pricing, Power and Range Detailed
  • 2025 Maserati Grecale Folgore First Drive: Brand's First EV Could Be a Hard Sell
  • 2025 Mercedes-Benz G-Class Prototype First Drive: More Comfortable and Competent
  • The 2025 Ram 1500 Hurricane HO: Premium Fuel Optional

Popular new car reviews and ratings

  • Infiniti QX 80
  • Car Volvo XC40
  • 2025 MINI Cooper News
  • 720S Spider
  • Metris Vans

Lease deals by make

  • Buick Lease Deals
  • BMW Lease Deals
  • Genesis Lease Deals
  • Chevrolet Lease Deals
  • Honda Lease Deals
  • Ford Lease Deals
  • Audi Lease Deals
  • Hyundai Lease Deals
  • GMC Lease Deals
  • Cadillac Lease Deals

Lease deals by model

  • Audi A7 Lease Deals
  • Chevrolet Corvette Lease Deals
  • Audi Q5 Lease Deals
  • Audi R8 Lease Deals
  • Audi Q7 Lease Deals
  • Chevrolet Camaro Lease Deals
  • Audi A5 Lexus RX-350 Lease Deals
  • Chevrolet Blazer Lease Deals
  • Chevrolet Bolt EV Lease Deals
  • Audi Q8 Lease Deals

Join Edmunds

Receive pricing updates, shopping tips & more!

dodge journey 2014 reviews

To Peking: A Forgotten Journey from Moscow to Manchuria › Customer reviews

Customer reviews.

To Peking: A Forgotten Journey from Moscow to Manchuria

To Peking: A Forgotten Journey from Moscow to Manchuria

Customer Reviews, including Product Star Ratings help customers to learn more about the product and decide whether it is the right product for them.

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyzed reviews to verify trustworthiness.

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

From the united states.

dodge journey 2014 reviews

There was a problem loading comments right now. Please try again later.

From other countries.

dodge journey 2014 reviews

  • Amazon Newsletter
  • About Amazon
  • Accessibility
  • Sustainability
  • Press Center
  • Investor Relations
  • Amazon Devices
  • Amazon Science
  • Start Selling with Amazon
  • Sell apps on Amazon
  • Supply to Amazon
  • Protect & Build Your Brand
  • Become an Affiliate
  • Become a Delivery Driver
  • Start a Package Delivery Business
  • Advertise Your Products
  • Self-Publish with Us
  • Host an Amazon Hub
  • › See More Ways to Make Money
  • Amazon Visa
  • Amazon Store Card
  • Amazon Secured Card
  • Amazon Business Card
  • Shop with Points
  • Credit Card Marketplace
  • Reload Your Balance
  • Amazon Currency Converter
  • Your Account
  • Your Orders
  • Shipping Rates & Policies
  • Amazon Prime
  • Returns & Replacements
  • Manage Your Content and Devices
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts
  • Conditions of Use
  • Privacy Notice
  • Your Ads Privacy Choices

IMAGES

  1. 2014 Dodge Journey Test Drive Review

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

  2. 2014 Dodge Journey Reviews and Rating

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

  3. 2014 Dodge Journey Crew AWD Review

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

  4. 2014 Dodge Journey VINs, Configurations, MSRP & Specs

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

  5. 2014 Dodge Journey Exterior Photos

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

  6. 2014 Dodge Journey Price, Value, Ratings & Reviews

    dodge journey 2014 reviews

VIDEO

  1. 2018 Dodge Journey 14698B

  2. DODGE JOURNEY 2012 2.4

  3. Dodge Journey 2014 Se 5 Pass 2.4L

  4. Dodge Journey 2.4 2012рік

  5. 2014 Dodge journey stealth car (living in my journey)

  6. Dodge Journey 2014 remote key Fob battery replacement

COMMENTS

  1. 2014 Dodge Journey Review & Ratings

    The 2014 Dodge Journey AVP, SE and SXT are powered by a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine that produces 173 horsepower and 166 pound-feet of torque.

  2. 2014 Dodge Journey Price, Value, Ratings & Reviews

    R/T Sport Utility 4D. $32,540. $8,631. For reference, the 2014 Dodge Journey originally had a starting sticker price of $20,490, with the range-topping Journey R/T Sport Utility 4D starting at ...

  3. 2014 Dodge Journey Consumer Reviews

    Consumer reviews; 2014 Dodge Journey consumer reviews. $19,995-$24,995 MSRP range. 4.2 (107 reviews) 84% of drivers recommend this car. Rating breakdown (out of 5): Comfort 4.6; Interior 4.4;

  4. Used 2014 Dodge Journey Consumer Reviews

    2013 Dodge Journey SE 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 4A) 52 of 59 people found this review helpful Me and my wife purchased a 2013 Journey 4 cyl. about 3 weeks ago, and absolutely love it!

  5. 2014 Dodge Journey Review, Pricing, & Pictures

    How Reliable Is the 2014 Dodge Journey? The Journey's reliability rating of three out of five is average among midsize SUVs and across the industry as a whole. Read more about Journey reliability » 2014 Dodge Journey Safety Score: 8.4/10. The Journey has decent safety scores, though many midsize SUV rivals have high crash test ratings.

  6. Used 2014 Dodge Journey SXT SUV Review & Ratings

    The 2014 Dodge Journey AVP, SE and SXT are powered by a 2.4-liter four-cylinder engine that produces 173 horsepower and 166 pound-feet of torque.

  7. 2014 Dodge Journey Reviews, Ratings, Prices

    Get the latest in-depth reviews, ratings, pricing and more for the 2014 Dodge Journey from Consumer Reports. Ad-free. Influence-free. ... The Journey, Dodge's first car-based SUV, used the ...

  8. 2014 Dodge Journey Consumer Reviews

    Among the 562 owners who provided feedback on the 2014 Dodge Journey for Kelley Blue Book, consumer sentiment is mostly positive, with 65% recommending the vehicle. As a whole, consumers found the ...

  9. 2014 Dodge Journey Prices, Reviews, and Photos

    The 2014 Dodge Journey stays the course for this model year. The Journey is a two- or three-row crossover with front- or all-wheel drive. Its base engine/transmission combo is a 2.4-liter I-4 ...

  10. 2014 Dodge Journey Review

    With an as-tested price of $32,315, our Journey included a sunroof ($1,095), upgraded 368-watt, six-speaker stereo ($395), a navigation and backup camera pack ($995), a Popular Equipment package ...

  11. 2014 Dodge Journey Specs, Price, MPG & Reviews

    The 2014 Dodge Journey is a mid-size SUV that competes with the Ford Edge, Honda Pilot, Honda CR-V, Toyota RAV4 and Toyota Highlander. It seats up to seven and comes in SE, SXT, Crossroad, Limited ...

  12. 2014 Dodge Journey

    Harrison F. The 2014 dodge journey sxt is a good vehicle, it runs good on gas, it is spacious and has many cool features. Pria T. For the most part, it has been a good vehicle. The only main problem is that it does not accelerate very quickly, but the rest of the car is great quality. Chelsea O.

  13. Used 2014 Dodge Journey R/T SUV Review & Ratings

    John, Wheaton, IL, 03/19/2017. 2014 Dodge Journey R/T 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A) V6 plenty of power front seats ok rear seats not suitable for older adults for long periods. Averaged 21.5 mpg ...

  14. 2014 Dodge Journey R/T AWD Review

    Engine: 3.6L V6 makes 283 hp and 260 lb-ft of torque. A 2.4-liter four-cylinder is also available with 173 hp and 166 lb-ft. Transmission: V6 models come with a six-speed automatic, while four ...

  15. Dodge Journey 2014

    Find all of our 2014 Dodge Journey Reviews, Videos, FAQs & News in one place. Learn how it drives and what features set the 2014 Dodge Journey apart from its rivals. Our comprehensive reviews include detailed ratings on Price and Features, Design, Practicality, Engine, Fuel Consumption, Ownership, Driving & Safety.

  16. Used Dodge Journey for Sale in Moscow, ID

    Browse the best July 2023 deals on Dodge Journey vehicles for sale in Moscow, ID. Save $5,059 right now on a Dodge Journey on CarGurus.

  17. 2014 Dodge Journey Consumer Reviews

    2014 Dodge Journey consumer reviews. $19,995-$24,995 MSRP range. 4.2 (107 reviews) 84% of drivers recommend this car.

  18. DCF Moscow: Interview experience & advice

    Hi everyone, Just got back from Moscow for the 'final' DCF interview. I'm very happy to say that my husband's visa has been approved! We're both so relieved. I posted a detailed review in the Consulate reviews section, so if you're interested you can read it here. I had no problem getting into th...

  19. Used 2014 Dodge Journey SE SUV Review & Ratings

    2014 Dodge Journey SE 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 4A) Have had an SE for 26 months. The Good: Great Storage options, nice interior, useful third row, Bluetooth controls. The OK: Fuel mileage ( after 16,000 ...

  20. Dodge For Sale in Moscow, ID

    Find 5 used Dodge in Moscow, ID as low as $4,950 on Carsforsale.com®. Shop millions of cars from over 22,500 dealers and find the perfect car.

  21. Used 2014 Dodge Journey SXT SUV Review & Ratings

    Stay Away. dissapointed, Sioux Falls, SD, 10/25/2017. 2014 Dodge Journey SXT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A) Have had this one now since new. 96,000 miles on it. its in the shop at least once a month ...

  22. Amazon.com: Customer reviews: To Peking: A Forgotten Journey from

    Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for To Peking: A Forgotten Journey from Moscow to Manchuria at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users.